NBA MVP odds: Giannis primed to repeat


We’re officially passed the All-Star break in the 2019-2020 NBA season and with the playoffs inching closer, we take a look at who has the best odds to be crowned the NBA’s Most Valuable Player.

At Bet365, one of the top online sportsbooks in the world, reigning MVP Giannis Antetokounmpo leads the way as the favorite with current odds of -400. Through the All-Star break, Giannis is averaging 30 points, 13.5 rebounds, and 5.8 assists and has his Bucks atop the NBA standings with a 47-8 record.

At this point, it’s going to be a huge surprise if anyone catches Giannis as MVP frontrunner. Sophomore sensation Luka Doncic of the Dallas Mavericks trails the ‘Greek Freak’ in betting odds at +650. His 28.9/9.5/8.7 line is impressive, but injuries have caused him to miss five games so far this season and that has likely impacted his odds. Former MVPs LeBron James and James Harden follow with odds of +850 and +900, respectively.

Odds to win 2019-20 NBA MVP Award

Player Odds to win NBA MVP
Giannis Antetokounmpo -400
Luka Doncic +650
LeBron James +850
James Harden +900
Anthony Davis +2,200
Damian Lillard +2,800
Kawhi Leonard +4,000
Nikola Jokic +7,000
Pascal Siakam +8,000
Paul George +8,000
Jimmy Butler +10,000
Rudy Gobert +10,000
Joel Embiid +12,500
Donovan Mitchell +15,000
Russell Westbrook +15,000

Odds subject to change at any time

Understanding NBA MVP Odds

Most sportsbooks will display odds in the American format as listed above. With Antetokounmpo being a huge favorite at this point in the season, his odds have a minus (-) sign ahead of the number.

  • Giannis Antetokounmpo -400

This means that a bettor needs to wager $400 to win $100. Everyone else in the current MVP race has plus (+) odds to win.

  • Luke Doncic +650

Here, a bettor stands to profit $650 for every $100 wagered.

If American odds aren’t your thing, simply use a tool like our odds converter to switch the odds to decimal or fractional format. Most online sportsbooks also give you the option to change the odds format that you see.

NBA MVP Betting Trends

Here are some trends you may want to consider before placing a bet on the NBA MVP:

  • Repeat winners are quite common. Twelve different players have won the award two (or more) years in a row.
  • The MVP usually comes from a winning team. Since 1985, only twice has the MVP come from a team that didn’t finish first or second in its conference.
  • The award is usually given to a player with a few years of service time. A rookie hasn’t won MVP since Wes Unseld in 1969 and only four MVPs have been younger than 23 years old.
  • The MVP award has historically been dominated by centers. However, a center hasn’t won the award since Shaquille O’Neal in the1999-00 season. MVP awards by position:
    • Point guard: 11
    • Shooting guard: 8
    • Small forward: 9
    • Power forward: 10
    • Center: 26


NBA MVP History

A quick look at recent NBA MVPs and the position they played.

Season Player Position Team
2018-19 Giannis Antetokounmpo Power Forward Milwaukee Bucks
2017-18 James Harden Shooting Guard Houston Rockets
2016-17 Russell Westbrook Point Guard Oklahoma City Thunder
2015-16 Stephen Curry Point Guard Golden State Warriors
2014-15 Stephen Curry Point Guard Golden State Warriors
2013-14 Kevin Durant Small Forward Oklahoma City Thunder
2012-13 LeBron James Small Forward Miami Heat
2011-12 LeBron James Small Forward Miami Heat
2010-11 Derrick Rose Point Guard Chicago Bulls
2009-10 LeBron James Small Forward Cleveland Cavaliers
2008-09 LeBron James Small Forward Cleveland Cavaliers
2007-08 Kobe Bryant Shooting Guard Los Angeles Lakers
2006-07 Dirk Nowitzki Power Forward Dallas Mavericks
2005-06 Steve Nash Point Guard Pheonix Suns
2004-05 Steve Nash Point Guard Pheonix Suns
2003-04 Kevin Garnett Power Forward Minnesota Timberwolves
2002-03 Tim Duncan Power Forward San Antonio Spurs
2001-02 Tim Duncan Power Forward San Antonio Spurs
2000-01 Allen Iverson Point Guard Philadelphia 76ers
1999-00 Shaquille O’Neal Center Los Angeles Lakers